Joe Cans: Blog

Know your family history

I was diagnosed with breast cancer about a week go.

I’m not posting to get sympathy just want it known that breast cancer, ovarian, prostate, and pancreatic cancer is known to be caused by a genetic mutated gene. I’ve seen all the promotions of breast cancer but never thought I would have it because no one that I know of in my family has had breast cancer. I realized that I didn’t know anything really about it.

I just want everyone to know and be aware of family cancer history and what that can mean. I don’t know yet if mine is genetic but sent the test out so I can inform my family. Hopefully I will know soon. My cancer is grade 3. Very fast growing. Luckily it was found early enough to have a good chance of killing it.

So please be aware of family history.

-Kim Hetherington, Current Breast Cancer Warrior

This entry was published on April 10, 2014 at 5:02 pm. It’s filed under Current Warriors and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

